Meet Monica Martin, Our Newest Faculty Member

The Texas Tech HDFS faculty is expanding by two members this year, Monica Martin and Zhe Wang. Monica has arrived and begun teaching for us in the Fall semester. Below, we introduce her via a brief Q&A. Zhe will not be joining us until January, so we’ll save her introduction until then.

Before arriving in Lubbock, Monica traveled to Europe over the summer, as shown in the following photo. “It is the town square of Delft, a city in the Netherlands. I went to a symposium in Amsterdam in June and spent a little bit of time exploring,” she said. The rest of the interview appears below the photo.

monica-martin

Tell us about yourself.

I was born in California, grew up in the Pacific Northwest and – until now — had always lived on the West Coast. Before coming to Texas Tech University, I worked as a research scientist on several National Institutes of Health funded studies at the Family Research Group in the Department of Human Ecology at the University of California, Davis.

What are your research interests?

My research examines the influence of economic disadvantage on the emotional and behavioral health of youth and families. I primarily study behavioral health involving problem behaviors that negatively influence health and well-being such as delinquency, antisocial behavior, and substance use and abuse. Much of my work examines the family processes through which economic hardship impacts families and individuals across time and multiple generations of family members.

What will you be teaching in the Fall?

HDFS 6363 (Advanced Topics in HD), a graduate seminar on poverty, risk and resilience.

What kinds of things are you looking forward to at Texas Tech?

I am looking forward to continuing my research program examining the ways in which economic disadvantage influences families and youth. I am also looking forward to collaborating with faculty and involving students in this and other research.

How are you adjusting to Lubbock thus far?

I am adjusting well. Summer in Lubbock is surprisingly similar to Sacramento, although I think the winters will take some getting used to. I have been enjoying the BBQ here and am looking forward to exploring Lubbock further.

What do you like to do outside of school?

I enjoy playing board games, reading mystery novels, spending time with my husband, and would like to travel more frequently.

Categories: Faculty, Welcome

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

