Welcoming Dana Weiser, Our Newest HDFS Faculty Colleague

The HDFS Department welcomes Dana Weiser, our newest faculty member. Dr. Weiser received her Ph.D. at the University of Nevada, Reno, from the school’s Interdisciplinary Social Psychology program.  Previously, she earned a Master’s degree at Cal State Los Angeles. As you can see, Dana’s years in L.A. left quite a mark on her! Below the photo are Dana’s answers to some questions to help us get to know her.

weiser lakers

Tell us about yourself.

Now that I am living in Texas, I have lived in every time zone in the contiguous U.S. I was born in the Washington, DC area and spent my adolescence in Santa Fe, NM. I spent about six years in the Los Angeles area before moving up to Reno for graduate school.

What are your research interests?

My work primarily explores how prior family experiences relate to individuals’ romantic relationship outcomes and qualities. Specifically, my work focuses on intergenerational patterns of infidelity behavior. Other topics of interest include communication and forgiveness following infidelity, self-efficacy development, and sexual health policies.

What will you be teaching in the Fall?

I’ll be teaching HDFS 3321 (Human Sexuality from a Life Span Perspective).

What kinds of things are you looking forward to at Texas Tech?

I am really looking forward to continuing my program of research and getting a few larger projects started. I am also glad that teaching and mentorship are a central focus here as I really enjoy working with students.

How are you adjusting to Lubbock thus far?

Quite well! I did the First Friday Art Trail when I first arrived so I liked getting to see a bit of Lubbock that way. I have already learned a lot about Buddy Holly.

What do you like to do outside of school?

I enjoy cooking, wine tasting, watching football (Washington Redskins–which won’t make me very popular here in Texas!), and watching basketball (Los Angeles Lakers–which doesn’t make me very popular most places besides LA!).

Categories: Faculty, Welcome

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

