Getting to Know Yoojin Chae, Our New HDFS Faculty Member

We are pleased to welcome Dr. Yoojin Chae to the HDFS faculty. The photo below was taken yesterday at the annual beginning-of-the-year meeting for College of Human Sciences faculty and staff, held at Texas Tech’s International Cultural Center. We tried to pose Dr. Chae by her native South Korea on the ICC’s giant rotating globe and it looks like we came pretty close! Beneath the picture, you will see Dr. Chae’s responses to some questions we posed, to help people start getting to know her.

Tell us about yourself.

I was born in South Korea and graduated from Yonsei University in Seoul. Then I earned my PhD at Cornell University and worked as a postdoc at the University of California, Davis.

What are your research interests?

My research emphasis concerns children’s eyewitness abilities and suggestibility, trauma and memory, developmental psychopathology, and the role of attachment in memory for negative experiences.

What will you be teaching in the Fall?

I’ll be teaching HDFS 3312 (Development During Childhood).

What kinds of things are you looking forward to at Texas Tech?

I look forward to furthering my research on child development by collaborating with other faculty and working side by side with many graduate and undergraduate students.

How are you adjusting to Lubbock thus far?

I’ve been exploring Lubbock by visiting various markets and restaurants. It’s quite a big city compared to the small towns where I lived before.   

What do you like to do outside of school?

I like to jog and cook in my spare time.

Categories: Faculty, Welcome

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

